The seaport city of Tampico is located in the southeast area of the State of Tamaulipas. Tampico is on the northern bank of the Panuco River and the Gulf of Mexico is the natural border which is to the east of the city. Because of great water accessibility Tampico is the second most important port of Mexico after Veracruz's Pajaritos port. The cities of Tampico,Altamira and Madero are the metropolitan area of the state. A center of industrial and touristic development is part of the success of this city.
The climate of Tampico is tropical characterize by warm weather. The average temperature for the city is 24C with maximum and minimum of 36.8C and 9C respectably.
Among the attractiveness of this city, you find it's Miramar beach, the colorful historic center and ,of course, the many recreational activities available for visitors specially sport fishing and golf.
Tampico's first founders are the Huastec tribes which settle down in the banks of the Panuco River and formed the Cuauhtemoc villa. During 1532, the villa was continually being attacked by pirates and this is when cuauhtemoc villa was help by Fray Andres de Olmos. Then in 1554, Don Luis de Velasco supported the idea of establishing a franciscan monestary at the Villa. The monastery will have the resposibilities of protecting and convert the huastec indians. Because the pirate attacks were not stop, the village decided to move to other areas along the Tamesi River. Finally, Fray Matias Terron and Don Jose de Escandon founded in January 15, 1754 a new village named after their royal governor Don Luis de Velasco; Villa de San Luis Tampico. And thanks to the salt mines and marine trade available at Villa de San Luis Tampico, the village gain economic recognizion and the principal customhouse was build in the port of Tampico. The village was named Santa Anna de Tampico in April 12, 1823 becaming the main port of the northeast region. The Port of Tampico traded with San lUis Ptotsi and Louisiana products like food, clothins and prefabricated wooden houses. The Houses imported from Louisiana influenced tampico architectural style. Tampico was given a shield of arms on November 24, 1825.
other important dates
*April 17, 1890- Railroad system was first introduce in Tampico
*1900- Crisis of coal commerce reason for the Oil commerce boom in Tampico close by areas.
At the historical center, visitors can observed original porfiriato style of tampico's buildings which have been restore and preserved. The historical Center offers great historic beauty as well as cultural features that make tampico so unique. The main attractions at the historical center are:
Plaza de Armas - a baroque kiosque built in 1924 by Don Juan de la Lastra and architect Oliverio Cede�o.
The Cathedral - In May 9, 1841 the cathedral construction started but it was until 1856 that was finished. The architect Lorenzao de la Hidalga completed the whole Cathedral but five years later the center of the cathedral collapsed. Don Eugenio Mireles de la Torre rebuilt the center of the church.
The cathedral has a neoclassic style and corinthian facade. At the front wall visitors can observed the byzantine mosaic, in the central corridor floor swastika crosses and a main marble of carrara alter.
Municipal Palace or city hall - This italian style buildings was built during 1928 to 1933 by architect Enrique Canseco. Now a days hosts the city council offices and the public library. A mural made by Carlos Sens depicts images of Old Tampico.
Plaza Libertad - the plaza has beeing modernalized in the last years as well as the buildings nearby but what makes this plaza so popular is the restaruants, shops and banks establishing along the streets.
Ex-Hotel Palace - a beautiful builidng with iron balconies in which president Porfirio Diaz stayed in.
Edificio de La Aduana maritima - The builidng is found between the Panuco and Tamesi rivers and displays an english style architecture. Its construction began in 1898 by a english company and the inauguration took place in October 1902. The wooden windows and door for the buidings were imported from Louisiana and the cast iron and red bricks came from France.
Casa de la Cultural - The building was built in 1923 to serve as a slaughterhouse owned by Don Bartolo Rodriguez de Leon. The building later became city property and the idea of remodeling the building to serve as a center to promote fine arte emerged. In 1998 the remodelations started on the building. The casa de la cutlura offers art lessons, a concert hall and a permanent painting and sculpture gallery.
Metropolitan Park - On the border of the Laguna del Carpintero, the metropolitan park counts with exotic gardens and a bridge that crosses the lagoon. Also there are boat rides available and resting spots like palapas. This park is also host of Nauticopa, an international sport event,every year.
Tampico Bridge - Serves to connect tamaulipas and veracruz; its inauguration happen on October 17, 1988. It took ten years to finished but now represent a landmark of Tampico city.
Pyramid of the Flowers - structure built by the huastec tribe of the region during the 600 and 1200 B. C. Built out of dirt earth, sand shell and clay. And it was use to worship their gods.
Miramar Beaches - The most popular attraction while visiting Tampico is the Miramar Beach. It offers ten km of which sand and warm waters of the Gulf of Mexico. Tourists practice many aquatic sports activities like sailing, fishing and jet skiing.